Home » Uncategorized » William Holden Wednesday

William Holden Wednesday

Here are a couple of William Holden’s TV appearances from the 1950s.   First, Bill appears on the game show “What’s My Line?” and discusses his 1956 film Toward the Unknown, which I watched recently.  It’s an interesting movie about test pilots at Edwards Air Force Base in the years just before the formation of NASA.

You can read a review of  Toward the Unknown here.  Although I agree with his points, I think I liked the movie a little more than the reviewer, I suppose because I’m a sucker for movies about pilots (Only Angels Have Wings, Test Pilot, The Right Stuff) and for William Holden.

He was so charming and dreamy!  Such a great smile.

Next up is Holden’s appearance on the “LA at Last” episode of I Love Lucy.  I’ve seen this more times than I can even count, but it never fails to crack me up.  The Hollywood episodes of I Love Lucy are my favorites, especially this one.  William Holden was a very good sport, taking that pie in the face.  His reactions to Lucy’s fake nose are hysterical!

4 thoughts on “William Holden Wednesday

  1. I love William Holden! Your comments about Sabrina a few weeks ago were spot on. I just pretend Sabrina ends up with David anyway…

    Have you seen “Apartment for Peggy”? It’s a great film with Bill and the adorable Edmund Gwenn.

    • Hi Lexie! Thanks for your comment. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels a little disappointed that Sabrina ends up with Linus. ;)

      I haven’t seen “Apartment for Peggy,” since it’s not on DVD and I’ve never caught it on TCM or elsewhere. It’s on my wishlist of things to see, however. It sounds really cute.

  2. Absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this episode. She was never afraid to do what it took to get a laugh, even when (and more often than not) at the expense of looking so silly.

Leave a Reply

