Home » Uncategorized » Riviera Style: To Catch a Thief

Riviera Style: To Catch a Thief

Kimberly at the wonderful GlamAmor blog has published a fantastic post and accompanying video on the Edith Head designed resort wardrobe featured in Alfred Hitchcock’s To Catch a Thief.  If you love Grace Kelly’s cool, understated elegance in that film as much as I do, you’ll definitely want to check it out.

Wardrobe contributed so much to Hitchcock’s films and as Kimberly points out so well, Edith Head was integral in creating what we now think of as Hitchcock Style. Imagine Vertigo without Kim Novak’s severely chic gray suit, or Rear Window without Grace Kelly’s magnificent entrance in that black and white dress with the full tulle and chiffon skirt.  It can’t be done!  The best costume designers, like Mad Men’s brilliant Janie Bryant and of course Edith Head, are just as much storytellers as any writer or director.

If you want to learn more about Edith Head, I highly recommend checking out Edith Head: The Fifty Year Career of Hollywood’s Greatest Costume Designer by Jay Jorgensen.  It’s full of stunning illustrations and photos of Head’s most memorable work, including that she did with Alfred Hitchcock.

4 thoughts on “Riviera Style: To Catch a Thief

  1. Thanks for sharing! I’m so glad you enjoyed it and share so much of my affection for this wardrobe. Sigh…ahhhh to live and play on the Riviera. I love your site and see how much we are indeed kindred spirits. xoxo

    • You’re very welcome! Your blog has quickly become one of my favorites, combining as it does my two biggest passions — classic movies and vintage clothes. :-)

      I visited the South of France for the first time about 10 years ago, and as the taxi driver was taking me from the Nice airport to my hotel all I could do was gawk at the scenery and think “Oh my gosh, it really is exactly like To Catch a Thief”! I half expected Cary Grant to show up and squire me around town. Alas. ;-)

      • I’m so jealous, Melissa! That trip must have seemed so surreal…in the best possible way. It’s definitely on my trip wish list. Wow. By the way, it’s so funny that I just read that THE MORE THE MERRIER is your fav movie right now…I was just watching it again (for the zillionth time) last night! I LOVVVVVVE Joel McCrea…all 6’3″ of him. ;) And he and Jean have so much fun and chemistry together. Their scene on the stoop is one of the sexiest of all time to me.

        Thanks again for your great support of GlamAmor! xo

      • It was totally surreal! I’d spent so many years seeing the Riviera and Paris in movies that when I finally saw them in person it was a dream come true.

        Oh boy, Joel McCrea is gorgeous, isn’t he? “The More the Merrier” is romantic, sexy, sweet, hilarious — I love every second of it, and McCrea’s character is so dreamy. Have you seen “The Palm Beach Story”? That’s another movie with some great steamy McCrea moments, in this case with Claudette Colbert. (The zipper! If you’ve seen the film, you know what I’m talking about. ;))

Leave a Reply

