Home » Uncategorized » Happy Birthday, Doris Day!

Happy Birthday, Doris Day!

Annex%20-%20Day,%20Doris_08It’s Doris Day’s birthday, and that’s cause for much jubilation as far as I’m concerned!  My love for this marvelous lady is off the charts and has been ever since I was a little girl.

She’s quite simply the greatest.  With her beautiful singing, fantastic acting in some of the most charming movies ever made, and her devoted work for animal welfare, she’s made the world a much happier place during her 87 years.

I think I’ll get out my collection of Doris Day movies and watch a few today in celebration.  My all-time favorite, Pillow Talk, definitely.  Maybe Calamity Jane and her delightful first film, Romance on the High Seas, too.  Oh, and The Glass Bottom Boat – it’s been too long since I saw that one.  There are just too many to choose from.  If I had the time I’d spend the whole week watching Doris Day movies!

On the subject of time, mine’s been very limited lately, so I’m way behind on both reading others’ blogs and on writing here myself.  Among other things, I want to talk about Dear Heart, which I happily found I still loved, and about all the William Holden movies I’ve seen lately, especially The World of Suzie Wong, which I thought was great.

I’ll be busy with work and traveling for a while, though, so appearances here might be scarce.  It’s too bad watching classic movies and writing about them can’t be my full-time occupation!

Hope you all have a great week, and Happy Birthday, dear Doris!

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Doris Day!

    • I’m so glad she’s around, too. She sounds very spunky and full of life in the messages she posts on her DorisDay.com website. :)

  1. I know what you mean by “off the charts”….She is the epitome of class. There has never been anyone who can thrill us in the movie theatres like she did. The last of the great movie stars of the silver screen still lives. Her name is Doris Day!

  2. It’s belated, but I’m sure Doris had a spectacular birthday.

    Love ya lots Doris. Enormous hugs to ya, as always.

    There’s no doubt that Doris Day fans (called friends by Doris) are the most dedicated people and I’m one of them.

    My whole life has been spent revisiting Doris’ talents and realizing how truly spectacular her talents have endured with each viewing.

    If you watch a Doris Day film frame by frame she’s always correctly on target for what should be happening with her character within the context of the film.

    Oh sure it’s all cut and pasted together – we know that.

    But can you imagine the volumes of choices that the editor had for each frame? Though, most of Doris’ work was done in one take, just like most of her songs were recorded.

Leave a Reply

