Home » Uncategorized » Misty, watercolor memories

Misty, watercolor memories

I can’t express how utterly thrilled I am that TCM will be airing the 1964 movie Dear Heart, starring Glenn Ford and Geraldine Page, on March 27! It’s one of those movies that’s been difficult to track down in recent years, since it’s not on DVD and has never, to my knowledge, aired on TCM before this.

AMC showed it many years ago, back in the good old days when it was American Movie Classics. I absolutely loved it then, but I haven’t seen it in at least 15 years, probably more.

Still, as excited as I am to finally get a chance to re-watch Dear Heart, part of me is almost wary of doing so! I have such fond memories of Geraldine Page’s heartbreaking performance and the movie’s sophistication and romance, but will it stand up as well now that I’m a jaded (well, slightly jaded) thirtysomething, not an impressionable kid?

After all, some other movies I loved in my youthful AMC-watching days and saw again as an adult didn’t live up to my rosy memories of them.  April in Paris, with Doris Day and Ray Bolger, was one of my favorite girlhood movies.  When it was released on DVD a few years ago and I watched it, I was less than impressed. It was a bit of a let down after pining to get my hands on it for ages.

I hope Dear Heart won’t disappoint me.  And I hope that one day I’m able to see another  much-loved movie AMC used to  show – Margie, starring Jeanne Crain.  It and Dear Heart have been on the top of my wish list for so long.

Here’s the trailer.  Oh, that beautiful Mancini tune. At least I know that part is as good as I remember. Stay tuned for thoughts on Dear Heart later this month.

4 thoughts on “Misty, watercolor memories

  1. Oh, how I love MARGIE! What a special movie. When I was able to see it a couple years ago for the first time in decades, it had held up fine. :)

    I’ll make a note to watch DEAR HEART! Thanks for mentioning it. Also enjoyed your post on IT STARTED IN NAPLES which is another new-to-me title.

    Best wishes,
    Laura

    • Hi Laura,

      I’m glad “Margie” was as good as you remembered. I have such fond memories of that movie. I used to watch it over and over when I was young. :)

      I can’t wait for “Dear Heart”! I was starting to think I’d never see it again when it appeared on this month’s TCM schedule.

      MC

  2. I’m with you on “Margie”. I saw it on AMC back when, and always wished I had recorded it. A really darling movie. While I am not a big fan of Glen Ford, “Dear Heart” is one film where I really like him. Like you, I hope it holds up because I haven’t seen it for 25 years.

    • I’m not a big Glenn Ford fan either, but I have really good memories of “Dear Heart.” I’m so looking forward to seeing it again.

      Now if someone would just show “Margie”! That was such a sweet movie.

Leave a Reply

