Home » Actors » The movie star I’d most like to have dinner with

The movie star I’d most like to have dinner with

You might think I’d say Cary Grant would be my dream dinner companion, right?  And I certainly would’ve loved to be anywhere in his vicinity at any time in his life, don’t get me wrong.

I don’t think I’d have been able to do anything but silently gape in wonder and awe if seated next to Cary, however, and it just would have been humiliating.  Worse even than when dear Audrey Hepburn had dinner with him before filming Charade and spilled red wine on his light colored suit!

No, these days I think my ideal classic movie star dinner companion would be the dapper David Niven.  I started reading his autobiography The Moon’s a Balloon this weekend, and oh my gosh is it ever hilarious!  Truly laugh out loud funny.

with david niven

David Niven and Jacqueline Kennedy partying with great chicness at the Waldorf Astoria in 1956

In the book Niven comes across as witty, bawdy, charming, wicked, intelligent and so much fun.  And I haven’t even gotten to the Hollywood bits yet.  Yes, a seat next to a tuxedo-clad Mr. Niven would be perfect.  He could tell risqué, gossipy stories all night while we laughed, sipped champagne, and shared a dance or two.

So which classic star would you most like to chat with at a dinner party?

One thought on “The movie star I’d most like to have dinner with

Leave a Reply

